I’ve noticed a lack of convenient recycling options in Murfreesboro. Granted, I’ve recently become interested and maybe I’m not looking hard enough; but when you live in an 810 square foot apartment, convenience is the keyword. There is the Recyle Rutherford organization and there are recycling containers scattered around the ‘Boro.  But very few pick-up options.

Here’s the deal: I would love it if my entire aparment complex could get involved. Two hundred fifty units fill up two Dumpsters and then some; next to our mail boxes, there is a three foot trash can filled w/ junk mail when I get off work at 9:30 p.m.  Maybe just recycle paper and aluminum or glass containers at first but it would be a step in reducing the amount of trash in the dumpsters. Any thoughts for how I can speak to my neighbors and complex about having this done? Anyone know of recycle pick-ups that will service the Cason Lane part of town? I want opinions please!

[edit: 7/17]: I receive these emails from Ideal Bite about different things we can do, such as recycling, composting, packing lighter [saves on airline fuel!], etc. Today’s Bite? Recycling & composting to reduce the amount of trash left in landfills [Ideal Bite: Trashy Poe(m)].

