Everyone will remember the fifth of November for various reasons: the day after President-elect Barack Obama’s victory, the day after Sen. John McCain’s very courteous concession speech and Guy Fawkes.

That’s right. Guy Fawkes.

But first–YYYYYYYYYYYYYYAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAYYYYYYYYYYYYYYY, Obama!!!!! I was in absolute shock last night because I was overwhelmed & happy. We had turned off the election coverage momentarily & when we stopped playing a video game for a bit, we saw the end of Sen. McCain’s speech. Then I noticed the electoral votes in the lower right hand corner on CNN. 333 for Obama. I literally froze in my chair. I voted for Obama but I was withholding celebration. I was afraid an early celebration would jinx the whole thing (I’m slightly superstitious). But hell yeah!!! GO OBAMA!!

Now for Guy Fawkes. V for Vendetta popularised Guy Fawkes and the plot to blow up Parliment. He is often referred to as “the last honest man to enter Parliament with honest intentions.” Fawkes stood up for his beliefs, even though it was “treasonous” since it was against the Government, and refused to name his co-conspirators until AFTER they turned themselves in (or were captured/killed). He was hanged, drawn & quartered for the plot and his part in it.

If I had a house, I would have a bonfire and light some fireworks to celebrate Bonfire Night (Guy Fawkes Night). Too bad the Caribbean has a ban on fireworks; I bet that was an awesome celebration.

If you need some help with the rhyme (also recited in V), here it is:

Remember, remember the Fifth of November,
The Gunpowder Treason and Plot,
I can think of no reason
Why the Gunpowder Treason
Should ever be forgot.
Guy Fawkes, Guy Fawkes, t’was his intent
To blow up the King and Parli’ment.
Three-score barrels of powder below
To prove old England’s overthrow;
By God’s providence he was catch’d
With a dark lantern and burning match.
Holloa boys, holloa boys, let the bells ring.
Holloa boys, holloa boys, God save the King!
