Courtesy of my boyfriend, I bring you a song that is “not only the “greatest anti-drug song ever written, it is also a personal statement about how the band has grown up, shucked off their bad-boy image and learned to become more adult.”* That’s right, I’m bringin’ you the News…. Huey Lewis and the News. And as if that wasn’t enough here is the image I see in my head every time I hear this song:

The reason this song makes me feel good is because I just [it’s Thursday night as I write this] laughed my ass off at my boyfriend reading aloud the above passage from Bret Easton Ellis’ “American Psycho.” I honestly thought he was reading from my copy of Lester Bangs ‘Psychotic Reactions & Carbeurator Dung,” but no. I forgot he is reading “American Psycho” (yes I have read it) so when he started asking me if I wanted to hear “Back in Time,” I retaliated with “I Want a New Drug.”

Which I know a bunch of the lyrics to. And I remember watching the video back when MTV showed videos. I was really little, but I remember.

So, for your amusement or ultimate horror, here is today’s Feel Good Friday– Huey Lewis & the News’ “I Want a New Drug.”

